Watching my tone

by onlykindwords

Today I had to do some rather frustrating and (in the end) fruitless chores. They were especially frustrating because I live abroad and I don’t speak the local language very well yet.

While dealing with salespeople who were trying to be helpful, but who simply couldn’t give me what I needed, I got very frustrated. I was able to not say anything rude or sarcastic, but my tone definitely edged into “exasperated.” I find it very hard to control my tone when I’m frustrated. I need to remember to take a breath before I speak, and to try smiling before I say anything. I think that smiling really changes my tone and makes it friendlier.

All in all, I think I handled myself much better than I would have last week, before I made the commitment to speak only kind words.

